Wednesday 9 May 2018

Smash all the Windows by Jane Davis

Reviewer: Liza Perrat, author of The Bone Angel trilogy (Spirit of Lost Angels, Wolfsangel, Blood Rose Angel) and new release, The Silent Kookaburra.

What we thought: I have loved all of Jane Davis’s novels, and her latest, Smash all the Windows, was no exception. This story starts twenty years after a terrible disaster, which I could easily visualise occurring in our times. It explores it effects on different people, and helps us to imagine how we might be equipped, or not, to cope with, and survive, such tragedy.

As usual, the author tells the story from the viewpoint of several excellently portrayed characters, her remarkable observational skills making us identify and sympathise with each character.

I enjoyed every character, admiring some more than others. Some simply struggle to get through each day as best they can. Others constantly search and dig, others lose their childhood during the years of grief. Jules was probably my favourite though, a poignant character; an artist able to pick apart the wreckage and rubble, and create something incredibly beautiful and defined. An exhibition entirely fitting for the Tate Modern art gallery in London.

Weaving between the past and the present, Smash all the Windows manages, somehow, to be both heartbreaking and hopeful. It does not give the reader resolution, but it does offer acceptance and the ability to attain a certain type of harmony with the tragedy.

I cannot recommend Smash All The Windows highly enough!

You’ll like this if you enjoy: character-driven, emotional tales.
Avoid if you don’t like: poignant literary fiction.

Ideal accompaniments: comfort food such as dark chocolate.

Genre: Literary fiction.

Available on Amazon

No comments:

Post a Comment